CSSP Committee Information: Each member takes part in two committees. Much of the work of CSSP is done by its ad hoc time-limited task forces and its committees.

  • CSSP Committees have been formed for the following reasons:
    • To allow rising presidents to lead a group of their peers – they would be held responsible for running the committee meeting. 
    • To ensure policy statements are developed and posted to the CSSP website
    • To help shape the leadership workshops by recommending speakers and topics.
  • CSSP Committee processes are:
    • Committees will be chaired by a member president who will self-identify through their registration.
    • Committees will have a Board member as co-chair. The Board member will serve as a liaison between the committee and the Board
  • Chair responsibilities between workshops: 
    • Contact committee members to review POLICY content for their committee – post workshop
    • Contact self-selected new members prior to upcoming workshops to share committee background and committee status information – sharing “airplane” reading in order to ensure attendees are up to speed in order to begin addressing issues at the start of committee meetings.

CSSP Committees: 

  • Association Best Practices and Ethics (combined)
    Chair: David Baltensperger, Crop Science Society of America
  • STEM Education
    Chair: Joe Ferrara, American Crystallographic Association
  • Government and Public Affairs
    Chair: Skip Hobbs, American Geosciences Institute
  • Scholarly Publications and Data
    Chair: John Downing, Association for the Sciences of Limnology & Oceanography
  • Science
    Chair: Lisa Keefe, American Crystallographic Association
Reach Out to Our Committees