Our Executive Board

WASHINGTON, DC. – The Council of Scientific Society Presidents (CSSP) is pleased to announce the results of its election of new Board members which was held during the Winter CSSP Leadership Workshop, December 4-6, 2021. Donna J. Nelson, Ph.D., a professor of organic chemistry at the University of Oklahoma, will fill the position of 2022 Chair-Elect. G. Warfield "Skip" Hobbs, the managing partner of Ammonite Resources, has been elected as a Member at Large. For 2022 Michael Grusak, Ph.D., assumes the role of CSSP Chair as Lisa Keefe, Ph.D. steps down from serving in that position in 2021 to assume the role of Past Chair. The CSSP thanks Malcolm Butler, Ph.D., for his time on the CSSP Board, which comes to an end on December 31, 2021.

Other members of the 2022 Board include Past Chair Lisa Keefe, Secretary Patricia Simmons, and Treasurer Joseph Ferrara. Members at large are John Downing, Lucinda Johnson, Jennifer Tank, April Ulery, Alumni member Sharon Mosher, Ethics/Legal Advisor Haskell Pitluck, and President Emeritus Martin A. Apple.

The Council of Scientific Society Presidents is a unique organization representing the breadth of science and engineering research disciplines through its member societies and federations. CSSP member societies are represented by their presidents, presidents-elect, and recent past presidents of leading scientific societies and federations whose combined membership is over a million.

Founded in 1973, CSSP has served as a center for national science leadership development, a strong voice in support of science, and the premier forum for national science policy development and open, substantive exchanges on current issues encompassing the full spectrum of science, engineering, and mathematics. CSSP is committed to "Advancing Leadership in Science and Technology" and to establishing policies and programs that will ensure a bright future for 21st century science.

Michael A. Grusak
Crop Science Society of America
USDA, Agricultural Research Service

Donna J. Nelson
American Chemical Society University of Oklahoma

Lisa Keefe
American Crystallographic Association
Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute

Patricia Simmons
American Association for the Advancement of Science
National Science Teaching Association

Joseph Ferrara
American Crystallographic Association
Rigaku Americas Corp


John Downing
Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography
Minnesota Sea Grant

Skip Hobbs
American Geosciences Institute
Ammonite Resources

Lucinda Johnson
Society for Freshwater Science
University of Minnesota-Duluth

Jennifer Tank
Society for Freshwater Science
University of Notre Dame

April Ulery
Soil Science Society of America
New Mexico State University

Ethics/Legal Advisor
Hon. Haskell Pitluck (Ret)
American Academy of Forensic Sciences

Director of R&D; President Emeritus
Martin Apple
American Institute of Chemists

Alumni Member
Sharon Mosher
American Geosciences Institute
The University of Texas at Austin

Executive Director
Cindy Paska